Please login or join to use the Hideout!

Forums Rants 'n' Raves Shakin' Street
  • Topic: How France gave punk rock its meaning (BBC article)

Back To Topics
    (0 rates)
    • March 6, 2011 8:40 AM CST
    • Untitled

BBC article

Check this out. I found this pretty cool and informative. I'm no punk expert so articles that aren't all about the Clash, the Sex Pistols etc have that effect. The article also links more French punk bands.

• March 14, 2011 11:20 AM CDT
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

I only have that live comp with Stinky Toys on CD. I do actually have a Telephone LP, I don't think they've been mentioned yet. One of the most successful 70's French bands, but hey were a bit more mainstream new wave. It could be the album I have isn't the best tho. As for Stinky Toys stuff, I find that almost anything can be found on Soulseek if one is patient & persistent. Tho I probably shouldn't be advocating that.

Duke Of Earl said:
      I can burn dogs cd for stinky toys copy if interested.

Duke Of Earl said:
      I found the Dogs cd used for like 8$. All the notes in the book are in french so maybe its hard to get over here. Id wanna get a StinkyToys cd too. Not easy to find though for a fair price. Im not interested in french hardcore just raw punk type stuff. 

Marty Shane, Pacifiction Records said:

When I lived in France as a student about 10 years ago I was looking for 70's punk and found a live comp from '78 called "Rock D'ici A L'olympia: La Nuit Punk De L'olympia" with a few of the bands on that list.  I think a lot of French stuff from that period leans more towards new wave, but some of the artists like Stinky Toys, Diesel and Bijou I remember being pretty cool. And I still gotta check out the Dogs. Anyway, I think you can get "Rock D'ici A L'olympia" here:

http://sonsofthedolls.blogspot.com/2008/01/le-rock-dici-lolympia.html

• March 14, 2011 7:56 AM CDT
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)