Please login or join to use the Hideout!

Forums Rants 'n' Raves Shakin' Street
  • Topic: "Real" chords or power chords?

Back To Topics
    (0 rates)
    • November 23, 2010 12:59 AM CST
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

Gang, I've been learning the guitar for say, 6 months self-taught. Last two week I'd been practicing triad chords like hell. I decided to put them into a love song of mine that I wrote specifically for real chords. And you know what? It just didn't sound right. It didn't send out the right message I wanted to send out.

So what now? Should I continue learning real chords or stick to something I'm much better at, power chords? Also, with punk/garage/rock and roll, what do you think is the triad chord/power chord ratio being used?

• August 30, 2011 5:27 PM CDT
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

well the sonics used power chords but stuff like gloria is proper chord

on th subject real chords sound more garage it depend ie A7 sounds garagy the way i play it but other voicings less so ,also g open is very un garagy

i like to use a mix

• December 5, 2010 10:49 AM CST
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

W E I R D O N I A said:
      Actually there are no power chords in Blue Orchid..
      He's using an POG octave generator, and he used his whammy live
      Oh, I guess they do sound more like octaves than power chords. What's a POG? I'd also like to mention that, surprisingly or not, Johnny Ramone used barre chords.
    • December 5, 2010 1:03 AM CST
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled