Please login or join to use the Hideout!

Forums Rants 'n' Raves Shakin' Street
  • Topic: Top 3 Favourite Bands

Back To Topics
    (0 rates)
    • September 16, 2008 4:43 PM CDT
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

Hey guys, I'm new around here and I've scanned through all the pages and it doesn't look like this thread has been done before so forgive me if it has.

I was wondering what are your personal top 3 favourite garage bands.
      I only discovered the whole garage thing a few months ago when I stumbled upon The Sonics. Since then I've been abliterating the net to try and find more, so I thought it'd be interesting to see who's everyones favourites. (It'd also give me some names to look into ;p)

Like I said I'm new to the genre but out of the small amount of bands I know:

The Sonics
      The Mummies
      & The Remains (no order)

I especially like The Mummies from what videos I've seen fo them, they seem pretty crazy.

So what's everybody elses...
    • October 10, 2008 4:25 PM CDT
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

Thanks for all the posts guys.
      I'll be looking into all of them.

I think The Who and The Kinks could be classed as Garage, but I would class them as British Invasion; but then again I don't count British Invasion as a real genre because really it's just 50s Rock N Roll come full circle; and isn't Garage just Rock N Roll played more aggresively?

Tis a tough cookie.
    • October 9, 2008 12:11 PM CDT
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

If you want modern garage i'd pick up the Oblivions, Gories, Mighty Caesars first... For 60s stuff I'd dig The Monks, Chimney Sweeps and the back from the grave series...
    • October 6, 2008 8:16 AM CDT
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled