Please login or join to use the Hideout!

Forums Rants 'n' Raves The Lounge
  • Topic: Pinball / Jukeboxes / Coin-Op Freaks

Back To Topics
    (0 rates)
    • January 22, 2008 11:30 PM CST
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

I am wondering if there are any other folks on this site who, like myself, have a pretty much fatal weakness for old pinball machines and jukeboxes. I've got four electro-mechanical pinball machines and two jukeboxes ((one of which works)), and i live in a *tiny* house. There is definitely a mental illness component to the whole thing, because these machines are heavy as fuck ((at least jukeboxes are)), they gobble up space, they break constantly, and i'm no fucking mechanic. Yet, they are SO FUCKING COOL that i got rid of my kitchen table just to make room for another pinball machine. After all, i ALWAYS wanted to own pinball machines -- never really had an opinion on kitchen tables one way or another. I know there are a lot of pinball/juke related sites in the world, but, quite frankly, i'm always a smidge embarrassed by my technical incompetence on those sites. Lots of those dudes who have basements full of pinball machines are, like, plumbers -- to whom welding mechanical parts is almost second nature. Me, i'm just a rock geek. I'd like to exchange maintenance tips and tricks ((par example: I understand that to replace a Gottlieb bumper body, i need to desolder the light socket that, in essence, holds it in place. What are the odds that, after i desolder the light socket, that i can remove it in one piece -- that it doesn't just come apart in bits and pieces of 35-year-old metal??? No one will tell me this, so here sits my Aquarius machine with icky bumper bodies! Well i never!)) with other such brain-damaged yokels, if, in fact, any such yokels do exist. And, if not, what the hell are you waiting for??? GO BUY A JUKEBOX, YOU PANSIES!!!
    • March 18, 2008 6:54 AM CDT
      • Post(s)