Please login or join to use the Hideout!

Forums Rants 'n' Raves Shakin' Street
  • Topic: VOX PICKUP WANTED!!!

Back To Topics
    (0 rates)
    • December 26, 2007 10:24 AM CST
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

Hi
      The neck pickup of my Vox Bobcat is shafted. I can't even get it rewound as the casing is completely sealed and shrunken! Does anyone have a fucked up Vox lying around for spares? Please see the attached photo for the style of pickup. Please mail me if you can help me locate one...
      Cheers
      Chris Jack
    • April 22, 2008 4:54 AM CDT
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

Well I'll keep an eye out on Japanese auctions, but USA is probably cheaper.
      I'm no expert, but I think you'll probably be better of having an expert inlay another "O" and have the paint refinished. Every secondhand Vox guitar I have owned has needed a refret, except one. Restoring the original headstock, would be cheaper than a replacement neck, and whatever trouble it brings.
    • April 21, 2008 8:39 PM CDT
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

Yes it is the black headstock with the letters inlaid...no flowery stuff...the "O" sort of melted away...you can sort of see it in our picture...thats the guitar
    • April 21, 2008 3:17 AM CDT
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked
      • cR(s)
        0 0

Untitled

What kind of damage? It's a black headstock with 3 letters inlaid, and no flowery stuff right?
      On my black headstock guitars (and most of the others I have seen), there is shitloads of lacquer over the logo, and they can go quite bubbly, brown, and ugly with time (as the varnish seems to become detached from the inlay). My Starstream's headstock looks like the elephant man, but it's totally natural so I'm not overly bothered.
    • April 20, 2008 1:46 PM CDT
      • Post(s)
      • Like(s)
      • Liked